Print this page

Visitor Center "Underground Secrets of Paklenica"

Hidden in the Velika Paklenica canyon, there are underground tunnels, popularly called “Bunkers”. They were built by the Yugoslav Army between 1950 and 1953, amid tense political climate between Yugoslavia and the Soviet Union (USSR). What was hidden behind the bricked shafts of the Velika Paklenica canyon was a well-kept secret until the beginning of the Homeland War in 1991, when the Croatian army started to use the 1,500 m2 facility as storage. After the end of the Homeland War, Public Institution “Paklenica National Park” was given the right to permanently use the Bunkers. Having recognized the great potential of the facility, back in 2000, the Park Administration commenced with the works of reconstructing it into a presentation center. In August 2016, the Visitor Centre “Underground Secrets of Paklenica” officially opened its doors to visitors, who were given the opportunity to see the fruits of years-long labor.
Visitors can enjoy the “Little Climbing Centre”, situated in the multifunctional hall that also houses an artificial climbing wall inviting them to make their first climbing steps. Visitors can also learn about climbing in a fun and interactive way, by means of screens on the walls of the hall, which include the presentations “Short Dictionary of Climbing”, “Short History of Climbing” and “School of Knot Tying”.

In the second part of the Center, the visitors can learn more about the first climbers in Paklenica, and find out the details from the life of Dragutin Brahm, who was known as the first climber in Paklenica. In addition, visitors are given the opportunity to learn about the work of the Croatian Mountain Rescue Service by listening to interesting stories of its members. Premises of the Croatian Mountain Rescue Service are located nearby as they care about the safety of visitors during the season. In the last part of the Center, the “Backpack” exhibition provides visitors with information on how to prepare for climbing and how to make sure they have all the necessary equipment before they start exploring the hiking trails.
 
Within the Visitor Center, there is the souvenir shop and cafe bar "Bunker".
 

VISITING HOURS:
Visitor Center is open daily in the period from May 1st to September 30th. For other appointments, please contact us by sending an e-mail to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or by phone at 00385(0)23 369 202.

Bunkeri_1.jpg Bunkeri_2.jpg Bunkeri_3.jpg

Bunkeri_4.jpg Bunkeri_5.jpg Bunkeri_7.jpg

Bunkeri_8.jpg DSC_0174_za web.JPG DSC_0178_za web.JPG

IZJAVA O ZAŠTITI PRIVATNOSTI I SIGURNOSTI OSOBNIH PODATAKA